Skip to content

Soul Movements

January 13, 2009

I used to write all the time.  However I was feeling, I would put pen to paper.  If I wasn’t writing, I was painting.  It was my therapy and allowed me to express myself however I liked and never judged me.  I should have treated it better.  It didn’t.  Not sure when or why I stopped but I did…so sad.

When you stop doing something you love, it never really goes away.  I thought it had and was really hard on myself.  But our Creator works in mysterious ways and it was only a matter of time before a chance meeting put me back on my path.

My boyfriend Sean and I were at a friend’s birthday party and I met a friend of his, Terri.  We vibed beautifully and found out that we were both from Nova Scotia.  We spoke of our work and she mentioned that she was a singer.  I told her of my love of the arts, how I was creative once and wanted to get back into it.  We left that night agreeing to keep in touch, especially since our boyfriends had hit it off so well.

A few days later Terri called Sean and mentioned to him randomly that maybe she should surprise me with some art supplies.  When he told me I said, “How thoughtful!”  I called Terri right away to thank her and invited her and her boyfriend for dinner.  A few nights later she lends me a book that is helping me get back on my creative path.

the-artists-way-front-cover1

The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path To Higher Creativity by Julie Cameron is fantastic!!  The product description from Amazon.ca reads like this: “With the basic principle that creative expression is the natural direction of life, Julia Cameron and Mark Bryan lead you through a comprehensive twelve-week program to recover your creativity from a variety of blocks, including limiting beliefs, fear, self-sabotage, jealousy, guilt, addictions, and other inhibiting forces, replacing them with artistic confidence and productivity.”  Check out the link below for more info:http://www.amazon.ca/Artists-Way-Spiritual-Higher-Creativity/dp/0874776945/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1231825981&sr=8-1

And to the lovely Ms. Terri Oliver, words can’t express my gratitude.  Terri is a fiercely talented and soul/jazz singer, with an incredible CD Exponentially, which is available NOW!  Here’s her info:

terri-oliver-cd-cover1

Allofhersoul Band

“Exponentially is the first independent album from Canadian songstress Terri Oliver.  The album is a collection of jazz and blues classics with a few contemporary and original gems including: I’m a Woman, Coffee & Cigarettes, Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You, & Down In The Hole.”

CD on Sale Now At:

HMV

Sunshine Natural Foods (942 College St. @ Dovercourt Rd.)

Soundscapes (572 College St.)

http://cdbaby.com/cd/terrioliver

& Every live performance!!

http://myspace.com/terrioliver

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

