Skip to content

Campus & Cowboys

January 16, 2009

The past few days have been pretty busy.  On Wednesday, after a crazy day at my 9 to 5, I fought the FREEZING cold and headed to U of T’s bookstore to buy my textbook for class.  I’m going for my Publicity & Public Relations Certificate at University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies.  It was the first time I had ever walked around U of T’s campus and for a moment I was slightly anxious.  Not sure if it was because the campus is so bloody huge.  I had heard of its size but I had no idea until I was actually there.  Probably because I was on my way to achieving my goal of attending university after finishing college 14 years ago.  I’m truly excited for the possibilities and that my pursuit of higher education continues…never stop learning!

EDUCATION = FREEDOM

I’ve heard this saying many times before and yet again Wednesday night while watching the movie Posse on AMC.  The last time I saw it was back in ’94 and Sean had never seen it so it was cool to check it out again.  I forgot how much I LOVE this movie!  If you don’t know, it tells the story of buffalo soldiers and African-American cowboys in the Wild West.  When I first watched this I remember thinking how much better my history class would have been if it had covered these historical facts *sigh*.  Anyhow, I’ll save that for a future post.

posse_1993-movie-pic-1

Interested in learning more about buffalo soldiers or African-American cowboys?  These sites are a great place to start: www.buffalosoldiers.com

www.blackcowboys.com

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

