Skip to content

Ambrosial Delights!

February 8, 2009

I’ve never been a big fan of Valentine’s Day.  Mostly because like every other major holiday I find it’s become too commercial.  In a perfect world, you would show those you care about just how much they mean to you EVERYDAY, not just on February 14th.   However despite my idealistic views, I was single for about 7 years before I met my guy and I understand just how much weight this one day can sometimes carry for people – whether single or in a relationship.  For my own interest, I decided to investigate the origins of Valentine’s Day and found this great link on About.com, which questions whether Valentine’s Day is a Pagan or Christian holiday.  Definitely worth a look.

Valentine’s Day: Pagan or Christian Holiday?

And because I’m all about channeling your inner Love Goddess, here’s another link from About.com with some fabulous information on some of history’s greatest: Top 8 Love Goddesses

egyptiangoddess-12

While flipping through the February issue of the Yoga Journal, I came across this recipe for a homemade aphrodisiac.   To be honest, I’ve never tried an aphrodisiac and although I don’t  necessarily need one ;-), I thought that in keeping with the spirit of  love, I’d share this recipe with you, which I’ve christened Love Potion 2.14.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t tempted to try it myself.  Curious?  Simply visit your nearest natural food store for the ingredients.

LOVE POTION 2.14

Made from common Ayurvedic herbs and foods to help you and your partner get in the mood.  According to Ayurvedic practitioner Scott Blossom, the ingredients below nourish the shukra, or the reproductive tissues and sexual fluids.

What You’ll Need:

1 cup of almond milk

1/2 teaspoon of ashwgandha powder

1/2 teaspoon of shatavari powder

1/2 teaspoon of ghee (clarified butter)

1/4 teaspoon of licorice root powder

1/4 teaspoon of dry ginger powder

1 date, minced

A pinch of nutmeg

Directions:

Simmer one cup of almond milk with the other ingredients for 5 minutes.  Pour into two demitasse cups and make a toast to your love! 😉

wallpaper_icon_moodlight

Here are a few other ambrosial delights from GourmetSleuth.com:

Aphrodisiac Foods

And of course if all else fails, nothing beats my favorite: CHOCOLATE!  Have a Happy Valentine’s Day!

chocolate-pic2

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jarrett permalink
    February 9, 2009 10:07 am

    These are some excellent tips. I’m looking forward to making good use of them.

    +

  2. February 11, 2009 4:25 pm

    Great Piece, with some lovely tips!

    I agree, never use a holiday to make the one you love feel special – I try to do one thing nice for my partner every day.

    Happy Velentines Day – May the love in your relationship stay strong and blissful till the end of time!

Trackbacks

  1. The Sweetest Thing « Nia's Piece

Leave a Reply

