Skip to content

Failing Fears

February 24, 2009

Fear, if allowed, can cripple you and prevent you from reaching your full potential.   While, I’m only now beginning to scratch the surface on why I give some of my fears so much power, it’s still a work in progress for me to stop it.  I’d be lying if I said that being in my 30s and writing my first university mid-term exam doesn’t have me a little fearful.  Growing up, I experienced pressure from my parents to excel in school.  There wasn’t a lot of room for trial and error and this mindset stayed with me into adulthood.  I try to make an effort to rid myself of any self-doubts or fears whenever they surface, however the past few days leading up to my exam I wasn’t so successful.   I’m blessed to be able to rely on key people in my life for support, perspective and inspiration…you know who you are and have my eternal gratitude!

Below are a few quotes, which were badly needed today.  I’ll let you know how the exam goes.  Wish me luck!

fall-creek

Your only limitations are those set up in your mind,
or permit others to set up for you.
~Og Mandino

Our doubts are traitors,
And make us lose the good we oft might win
By fearing to attempt.
~William Shakespeare

Fear is static that prevents me from hearing myself. ~Samuel Butler

xoxo/NavyJade

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tru permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:12 pm

    Nay – if ever there was a time in my life when I needed to hear this – this week is that time!
    I too have been having some self doubts and fears lately but you’re right – we CAN’T let that cripple us!
    Thank you so much for the reality check that I needed and I hope you KILLED your exam!

    • NavyJade permalink
      February 26, 2009 4:27 pm

      You’re more than welcome Tru! I’m relieved to know that I’m not the only one this happens to 🙂

      Thanks! I hope I kill it too but know that I’m at peace no matter what the outcome.

Leave a Reply

