Skip to content

SpeakEasy

March 26, 2009

Do you give good face? What I mean is how important is face time to you?  Is it even a priority? A recent experience had me wondering…

Last week I had a conversation with someone who showed me an act of kindness a few months ago.  After Barack Obama had won the U.S. presidential election I had my eye on the Time Magazine commemorative issue. Maybe you’ve seen the issue: it has the thicker stock of paper and a grey front cover…very nice, though more expensive than their regular magazine.  A complete stranger insisted on buying me the issue.  I thanked him and we introduced ourselves.  His name is John. We discovered that we worked in the same office building. The next day I went to John’s office and dropped off a thank you card.  From that point on, we said hello whenever we saw each other.

I bumped into John last Wednesday and he asked me how I thought the first 3 months were going.  I didn’t know what he was talking about so I just went along with it.  I said that I thought they were going well but we’d have to see what happens during the next quarter.  Turns out he was referring to Barack Obama’s presidency.  We spent the next 20 minutes chatting about various issues: from the AIG bonus mess, to the possibility of the U.S. dollar bottoming out. From the recession and living beyond one’s means, to getting back to what’s truly important in life.

I walked away from our talk and thought about the value of an engaging face to face conversation and resolved to do it more often. I love the exchange of ideas and energies; human interaction less the electronic middleman. With the advent of the internet and social media, nowadays it’s easier to text, write on someone’s “Wall” or “Tweet”, rather than pick up the phone or better yet speak in person. You’d be surprised what you can find out about someone if you simply ask questions and listen.  For example, I found out that John is a C.E.O. of a prestigious Canadian exploration company.  Very impressive! Sean and I have invited John over to our home and are looking forward to an evening of intelligent, easy conversation.

With all of the issues facing the world today it’s more important than ever to make face time with others: those you know, as well as those you don’t know.  Take a moment, give good face and SpeakEasy.

when-heart-speaks-take-good-notes-1

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Nasi-M. Ben -Yisrael permalink
    March 26, 2009 4:01 pm

    I bet you never think that i do read this stuff. It was a good piece. looking forward in seeing you over the summer if i am still around.Shalom,Nasi

  2. Jill permalink
    March 26, 2009 11:10 pm

    Fully agree with you Nadine. Face to face interactions are so important. The energy of the person when they talk tells you so much more about what they are feeling about the subject than the actual subject itself, and that is how we as humans connect, through feeling. I have been learning this lesson right now in a massive way in my relationship as it has become so aparent that we may not even have to speak about an issue for it to be resolved and shifted, and just our energies alone can tell the other what they are ACTUALLY feeling rather than what the words that are coming out of our mouths are saying!

    LOVE YOU! Keep writing you brilliant, beautiful, creative goddess 🙂

  3. April 20, 2009 9:04 am

    Everything dynamic and very positively! 🙂
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

