Skip to content

Spring Twist!

April 16, 2009

You only have to step outside and feel the sun on your skin to know that spring is here. This is one of my favourite times of year.  May is just around the corner and I’m looking ahead to a few special events: 2 birthdays (one of them being mine), 2 movies, 1 long holiday weekend, and Mother’s Day.

As a daughter and a mother, this day means the world to me. My mom’s warmth and strength has been and continues to be an inspiration. She’s one of 2 people who have made me the woman I am.  The other person is my late grandmother.  Even though it’s been four years since she passed, writing about her is still difficult.  Over the years various family members have told me that I remind them of my grandmother; not only in the way I look but how I act. This is an incredible compliment and lately I’ve begun to see how they could make this comparison. This year for Mother’s Day it was important for me to find a way to honour both my mom and grandmother. I came up with an idea and found someone who could assist me in bringing it to fruition: Gabrielle Lasporte, a Toronto based artist.

I’ve wanted to write a Piece about Gabrielle for a while. She possesses a genuine positivity and warmth you rarely find these days. We met through our significant others and I’ve been a fan ever since. Upon reviewing Gabrielle’s work you realize that innovation is evident in everything she creates. During her career, she has mastered various mediums including textile art, chalk & ink portraitures and Modern Batik Art. My introduction to Modern Batik happened when she created a piece of Sean and me, which you can see below. What I love about Gabrielle’s work is her use of colour.  The results are eye-catching pieces that feel as though they’d leap off the canvas, if given the chance.

Initially I thought that an enlarged, framed photograph of my grandmother on her wedding day would be an amazing gift, however I wanted it to give an original twist. I immediately thought of Gabrielle and asked her to create a Batik painting using my photograph. It’s now complete and I’ll be seeing it for first time in a matter of days! Absolutely delightful! I’ll be sure to show the painting in a future Nia’s Piece post.

I’m a firm believer in supporting our local artists and would encourage you to do the same. If I’ve piqued your interest about Gabrielle Lasporte, feel free to visit byGabrielle.com for more information.

Better yet, visit her in person at her next exhibit. Check out the link to find out where: byGabrielle Events

In addition to her many talents, Gabrielle is also an accomplished graphic designer.  Her company Gxcentrik Design provides various services such as corporate identity, illustration, packaging, collateral design & production, promotional material, and all encompassing market branding. Gxcentrik Design creates beautiful designs while supporting and developing their clients’ branding standards. Learn more by visiting: Gxcentrik Design.

sean-nay-batik

Photo by Gabrielle Lasporte

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Big Stone permalink
    April 16, 2009 5:42 pm

    What’s up Nay,

    Nice piece. You know I definitely miss grandmother too. I think everyone that knew her, or even heard of her, knew she was definitely a strong, smart, kind woman. She really understood people to a level that I dont even think they realized. Anyway, I see her in all of us, parents and kids, and for sure you’re your grandmother’s child. Keep up the good work cuz.

    Talk to you soon.

    By the way, I love the pic.

    • NavyJade permalink
      April 20, 2009 12:25 pm

      Well said cuz! Thank you!

  2. Sean I mean MIKE, ya thats it MIKE! permalink
    April 17, 2009 9:49 am

    loved the piece, love the painting..i think you are fine and i would like to take you out for a smoothie some time soon! YOUR TREAT!!

    congrats baby…and i cant wait to see the piece Gabreielle did for you grandmother!

  3. Jill permalink
    April 18, 2009 12:03 am

    LOVE you and your beautiful love for the arts, and for people. You are such an incredible writer and artist yourself miss Nay! Thanks for sharing your light and beauty with us 🙂

  4. Tru permalink
    April 20, 2009 12:23 pm

    wow! I love this pic! Gabrielle is truly a talented artist. I will definately keep her in mind.

    • NavyJade permalink
      April 20, 2009 12:34 pm

      That’s great Tru! Gabrielle is extremely talented and I recommend her highly./N

  5. May 6, 2009 6:55 pm

    Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll certainly be coming back to your posts. Keep up great writing

Leave a Reply

