Skip to content

Samba So Sweet

May 23, 2009

I don’t know about you but I can always tell how phenomenal a party was by how sore my feet were from dancing: especially if I’m wearing low heels or flats. My feet were  on fire last night when I checked out Samba Squad’s 10th Anniversary Concert at The Phoenix Concert Theatre. Sean and two of our friends performed so of course I had to come out to support the event. If you don’t know about the Samba Squad, shame on you! 🙂 They’re the legendary Toronto-based percussion group.  The Samba Squad blends the music of Afro-Brazil, Afro-Cuba, North and West Africa, as well as elements of urban funk and hip-hop to electrify audiences!

Proceeds from last night’s event went to the Samba Kidz Program. You can check out Samba Squad’s  website here for more information.  I was having too much fun so I didn’t take that many photographs but I did manage to capture two incredibly talented artists – producer, emcee, beat boxer, & actor a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL and Toronto dance choreographer Shawn Byfield – BRING DOWN THE HOUSE with their performance!!! Have a look at the photos below to see what you missed.

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-1View from the top

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-2Sean, his dad & me

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-5

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-3Shawn & Eva

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-7

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-6

NJ-Samba-Squad-10th-Anni-4

a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL’s & Shawn Byfield’s Performance at Samba Squad’s 10th Anniversary

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

6 Comments leave one →
  1. winston mauricette permalink
    May 24, 2009 10:53 am

    Hi Nadine
    Thanks for sending me that E-mail. I really enjoyed it. also I was very pleased of the photo with you Sean and myself.
    Thanks.
    BING

    • NavyJade permalink
      May 28, 2009 11:39 am

      You’re more than welcome Mr. Mauricette! You were great company!/Nay

  2. May 24, 2009 1:35 pm

    Thanks for the support NavyJade. And thanks for posting the video footage of our set- I don’t get to see our performances from the audience perspective often… this got me excited! The musicality, the concepts, the ENERGY… Samba Squad in the house!

    • NavyJade permalink
      May 28, 2009 11:40 am

      Anytime Shawn! I was happy that I was able to capture such wicked performance!/Nay

  3. Jill Yantzi permalink
    May 27, 2009 12:19 am

    Looks like it was an amazing event…. Shawn and Sean are phenomenal with their battle! Love it!

    • NavyJade permalink
      May 28, 2009 11:42 am

      The event was fantastic! Their performance was stellar!/Nay

Leave a Reply

