Skip to content

TRAINATHOUGHT

June 2, 2009

Do you remember why you fell in love with hip-hop? Did you ever think you’d see the day hip-hop grew up? While the answer to the first question may be easy, the answer to the second question may require more thought. Toronto artist a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL is set to answer both questions definitively when his highly anticipated debut album entitled TRAINATHOUGHT drops this Thursday, June 4th. With TRAINATHOUGHT, a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL has gifted Toronto and the world with a brand new sound where hip-hop meets soul: soul hop, which is a unique blend of the live instruments of 70s soul and the programmed drums of hip hop. “Think the smooth bangin’ beats of J Dilla, with a touch of Tribe Called Quest, a side of Digable Planets, and a pinch of Dwele.” says a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL who produced, arranged and mixed all 17 tracks on the album.

When asked about what sets him apart from other hip hop artists, he explains, “My boy recently asked me to name some current hip hop artists that you’d let your 9 year old listen to? After several minutes of thinking about it, I could only come up with 2. I am proud to say that my album easily answers this question. You won’t find any fast food music on my album…it isn’t about bling, or disrespecting our women. Soul hop isn’t about money and negativity but rather positive energy and matters of the soul.”

Passengers can expect a panoramic view of a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL’s world. I love that this album has something for everyone: “It’s Like That” will set your night off right, while “Stuck To You”, “What’s Good”, “Get ‘Em” & “I Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” ft. Rah Digga (yeah, that’s right, Rah Digga) are guaranteed to keep you on the dance floor. The conscious tracks “My People” & “Change The World” ft. Ania & Al. St. Louis, comment on pertinent social issues. Gentlemen will relate to the tale of love lost with “I Don’t Know” and the hit single “Crazy” ft. Dre Marone.  And ladies will adore “Beautiful To Find” ft. Lisa Banton and rejoice that the song “Beauty On Your Skin” is a smooth and sexy offering that leaves the lewd lyrics at the door.

Not only is he a talented producer, emcee, beat boxer, DJ and actor but a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL holds a degree in Architecture from the University of Toronto and is also an active member of his community, mentoring youth to follow their dreams as illustrated with his song, “Dream” ft. Oakdale Park Middle School.

This album is personal to me for a number of reasons. For those of you who know me, of course you understand why.  And for those of you who don’t know me, I’ll reveal a few details. First and foremost, I’m his #1 fan and I truly believe in the beauty of his music. Over the past 2 years I’ve witnessed firsthand a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL’s journey to share TRAINATHOUGHT with the world.I’m extremely proud of him.

Secondly, I was given an opportunity to contribute to TRAINATHOUGHT in many ways (Crazy & “Get ‘Em” are songs I helped to create).

Believe me when I say that TRAINATHOUGHT is for you!  If you love real hip hop, feel frustrated and abandoned by the current state of the genre, TRAINATHOUGHT is for you! If you’ve shouted at your radio while looking for a song with substance, TRAINATHOUGHT is for you! For years, I’ve wondered if I’d ever see the day hip hop grew up. TRAINATHOUGHT gives us hope: soul stirring beats, with positive messages that everyone can enjoy. People, are you ready?

On Thursday, June 4th, 2009 inside Harlem Restaurant and Lounge, located at 67 Richmond Street East, a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL will launch his highly anticipated debut album entitled, TRAINATHOUGHT. Doors open at 9 p.m. and the show starts at 10 p.m. This is a free event, with no cover so come on out to support!!

Let the world know that there is a place for positive, feel good, SOUL HOP!!!

For more information on a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL visit:

http://www.myspace.com/akaSUBLIMINAL

http://www.youtube.com/akaSUBLIMINAL

Be sure to download the hit single Crazy ft. Dre Marone here!

Album can be purchased from all major digital stores (i.e. iTunes, Rhapsody, etc.) as of July 1st!

FINAL COVER--for internet


Here’s the flyer for Thursday’s cd release party & link to the Facebook Event Page:

a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL’s CD Release Party

FLIER FOR JUNE 4th--alt

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO


© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

Do you remember why you fell in love with hip-hop? Did you ever think you’d see the day hip-hop grew up? While the answer to the first question may be easy, the answer to the second question may require more thought. Toronto artist, a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL is set to answer both questions definitively when his highly anticipated debut album entitled TRAINATHOUGHT drops this Thursday, June 4th. With TRAINATHOUGHT a.k.a. SUBMININAL has gifted Toronto and the world with a brand new sound where hip-hop meets soul: soul hop. Soul hop is a unique blend of the live instruments of 70s soul and the programmed drums of hip hop. “Think the smooth bangin’ beats of J Dilla, with a touch of Tribe Called Quest, a side of Digable Planets, and a pinch of Dwele.” says a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL who produced, arranged and mixed all tracks on the album.

When asked about what sets him apart from other hip hop artists, he explains, “My boy recently asked me to name some current hip hop artists that you’d let your 9 year old listen to? I am proud to say that my album easily answers this question. You won’t find any fast food music on my album…it isn’t about bling, or disrespecting our women” Soul-hop isn’t about money and negativity but rather positive energy and matters of the soul.

Passengers can expect a panoramic view of a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL’s world. I love that this album has something for everyone: “It’s Like That” will set your night off right, while “Stuck To You”, “What’s Good” “Get ‘Em” & “I Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere” ft. Rah Digga (yeah, that’s right, Rah Digga) are guaranteed to keep you on the dance floor. The conscious tracks “My People” & “Change The World” ft. Ania & Al. St. Louis, comment on pertinent social issues. Gentlemen will relate to the tale of love lost with “I Don’t Know” and the hit single “Crazy” ft. Dre Marone. And ladies will adore “Beautiful To Find” ft. Lisa Banton and rejoice that the song “Beauty On Your Skin” is a sexy smooth offering that leaves the lewd lyrics at the door.

Not only is he a talented producer, emcee, beat boxer, DJ and actor, but a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL holds a degree in Architecture from the University of Toronto and is also an active member of his community, mentoring youth to follow their dreams, as illustrated with his song, Dream ft. Oakdale Park Middle School.

This album is personal to me for a number of reasons. For those of you who know me, of course you’ll understand why. And for those of you who don’t know me, I’ll divulge a few details. First and foremost, I’m his #1 fan and I truly believe in the beauty of his music. Over the past 2 years I’ve witnessed firsthand a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL’s journey to share TRAINATHOUGHT with the world.

I’m extremely proud of him. Secondly, I was given an opportunity to contribute to TRAINATHOUGHT in many ways (Crazy and Get ‘Em are songs I helped create).

Believe me when I say that TRAINATHOUGHT is for you. If you love real hip hop, feel frustrated and abandoned by the current state of the genre, TRAINATHOUGHT is for you. If you’ve shouted at your radio while looking for a song with substance, TRAINATHOUGHT is for you. For years, I’ve wondered if I’d ever see the day hip hop grew up. TRAINATHOUGHT gives us hope: soul stirring beats, with positive messages that everyone can enjoy. People, are you ready!

On Thursday, June 4th, 2009 inside Harlem Restaurant and Lounge, located at 67 Richmond Street East, a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL will launch his highly anticipated debut album entitled, TRAINATHOUGHT. Doors open at 9 p.m. and the show starts at 10 p.m. This is a free event, with no cover so come on out to support!!

Let the world know that there is a place for positive, feel good, SOUL HOP!!!

For more information on a.k.a. SUBLIMINAL visit:

http://www.myspace.com/akaSUBLIMINAL

http://www.youtube.com/akaSUBLIMINAL

Be sure to download the hit single Crazy ft. Dre Marone here

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 1:46 pm

    This album is going to be AMAZING! From what I’ve heard already, this baby is going to be a good look for hip-hop and for Black music in general once it drops.

    Nice piece Nia. Thanks for shedding light on Subliminal and this album.

    • June 2, 2009 9:56 pm

      I was lucky enough to get my very own copy of the album today & you’re right, it IS AMAZING!! Thanks Sean, well said!/N

  2. June 18, 2009 9:49 pm

    Thank you for post. It’s very imformative stuff.
    I enjoy to read niaspiece.wordpress.com!

    palm beach teeth whitening

Leave a Reply

