Skip to content

All Things Splendid

July 27, 2009

“I think I need help with:” That was just one of the questions on my Trial Session form and it deserved a truthful response. “That’s easy,” I thought, “It was the thing I feared and craved: time.” I answered without missing a beat, “Sometimes I feel like I’m always in a rush and that there’s never enough time.” I completed my form and sent it off to Kulbinder Saran Caldwell, CPC (Certified Professional Coach) – Life Coach, who I met at an event this past May.

Kulbinder is the founder of reallife TALKS and is “an award winning communicator with an extensive background in marketing and production with over 16 years of experience.  Kulbinder has traveled all over Canada presenting at conferences and strategizing with senior management. Kulbinder’s eclectic personal & professional journey gives her a diverse outlook.”

My life had changed drastically over the past few months, both personally and professionally, and I had more on my plate than ever before. Even though I handled it as best I could – stayed positive, drew on my faith and inner strength as well as my friends and family – there were times that I felt like I was spinning my wheels. As luck would have it, I remembered Kulbinder and gave her a call. And although I was a little hesitant about the thought of meeting with a total stranger for such a personal manner, Kulbinder’s warm and approachable nature put any fears I had to rest.

Days later Kulbinder and I met for my Trial Session and she explained how she began her journey as a CPC as well as what she feels her role is in helping people determine and achieve their goals…

What made you decide to become a CPC?

Kulbinder: I come from a big family and was used to advising people and decided to do it professionally. I wanted to have some credibility and wanted the technical tools in order to effectively communicate with my clients. I love the ability to assist people in achieving their goals.

What is your role as a Life Coach?

Kulbinder: I assist those who are in transition, e.g. those in-between jobs or relationships or have moved to a new city to assess their situation, identify their goals and create an action plan to achieve their desired results. Coaching is a distinct process of supporting others to create their ideal life. I want you to estimate your goals, talk through your issues and/or obstacles to achieve your goals. One must be honest and committed to following through with their action items, accountability is necessary.

The first step in this process begins with the answers on the Trial Session form. Questions include, “I want you to know the following about me:” and “I want to explore the following during the trial session:” As we went over my answers, Kulbinder took thorough notes. We then discussed the key points and determined my action items.

One of her suggestions was that I identify “pockets of time” during the day to re-energize myself. Also, she asked me to get a Day-Timer and write down everything that I had to do.  Another action item was for me to make a list of everything that I had done in the past 3 months. These were all achievements and needed to be celebrated! When I looked at my list that night I was shocked at just how much I had achieved! I realized that I was being hard on myself and wasn’t giving myself enough credit. There is definitely a power in writing down your ideas, tasks, goals and achievements. It calls you to action, allows you take stock of how far you’ve come and stay the course in moving forward. Thanks for the reminder Kulbinder!

In her Between Us article in the July ’09 issue of Essence, Editor-In-Chief, Angela Murphy declares “It’s time for us to celebrate ourselves in all our fabulousness.” She goes on to say that a way to do this is to create a “sister circle” wherein friends send out a group e-mail to each other to share their achievements. What a beautiful idea, definitely worth trying!

Remember to celebrate ALL of your achievements!

For more information on reallife TALKS, visit their website. And before I go, I wanted to leave you with one of my favourite quotes:

“All things splendid have been achieved by those who dared believe that something inside them was superior to circumstance…” ~ Bruce Barton

Nia's Piece - All Things Splendid

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

