Skip to content

“LAID” Out For The World To See!

October 1, 2009

I’m a firm believer in shining a light on people in our community trying to effect change. So when I heard that Shannon T. Boodram’s book, “Laid: Young People’s Experiences with Sex in an Easy-Access Culture” (Seal Press) was being released today, I had to write a post expressing my support!

LAIDTheBook

I first connected with Shannon through her blog ThoseGirlAreWild.com. We became internet friends and I soon discovered the extent of her talent. She’s an accomplished writer, photographer and the awarding winning host of Rogers TV’s High School Rush.

ShannonTeresaBoodram-LAIDTheBook

As Shannon explains, “Laid is a collection of true stories from males and females 18-25 across North America. It covers hookups, amazing sexual experiences, consequences (STD/ abortion/ pregnancy), date rape/ sexual abuse and abstinence. It is shockingly real… – I am the editor with contributing stories.”

She goes on to say why she wrote ‘Laid’, “My American University experience was extraordinarily educational but not in the way you migh expect – what I learned from others easily trumped whatever was fed to me in my classes. There are many in Baltimore who made a strong impact on my education but there are three individuals who particularly stand out: a young girl living with HIV that I met through a local mall modeling competition, a homosexual girl who was my age as well as one of my dorm mates and finally a serious boyfriend who took far more interest in respecting my sexuality than I was accustomed to.

I had a wonderful experience in Maryland but I chose not to stay on scholarship since my love for track had dissipated. So, at 19 I came back to my home city, Toronto. I felt like a brand new person and what changed the most was my view on sexuality. At age 16, for several frivolous reasons (friends, media, pressure, stupidity) I became pretty promiscuous. I took this mentality with me to Baltimore but it certainly did not make it on my return flight. My self-sexual education had begun but it was far from over. I began to read books, search on-line and talk to others but I could not find the raw candor I had become accustomed to in Baltimore. To boot my youngest cousin, whom I was extremely close to, was 16 and way too much like me. I did not want her to make the sexual same mistakes based on ignorance or misconceptions.”

Below are a few photographs that represent chapters in the book. All photographs were taken by Shannon.

LAIDTheBook - positive-experiences_web

LAIDTheBook - teen-pregnancy

LAIDTheBook - sexual-abuse_web

An inspiring story from an amazing woman! Congrats Shannon! I truly believe ‘Laid’ is a book many young men and women need to read. ‘Laid’ is available at Amazon, Chapters, Barnes and Nobles, and Borders. I’d encourage everyone to pick up a copy. And if you live in the Greater Toronto Area, come on out to her book release party on Wednesday, October 14 at Revival (located at 783 College Street West at Shaw). It’s free event so I hope to see you there!

For more information visit: LaidTheBook.com

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

Β© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 11:01 pm

    Looks like it’d be a very good read for our young men and women out there.

    • October 1, 2009 11:33 pm

      Absolutely Sean! I also love the fact that these are true stories that are real and from the heart so everyone can relate.

      Thanks for commenting.

  2. October 1, 2009 11:14 pm

    Yay Shannon!

    • October 1, 2009 11:35 pm

      Hey Ad Girl!

      LOVE the teaser…can’t wait to watch the interview! Lol, don’t keep us waiting too long. πŸ™‚

  3. October 4, 2009 12:21 am

    Nia this is just so filling, like a 12 course meal. I’m so greatful to have connected with you, you’re such a beautiful person – thank you Nia! I would love to get a review on the book from you, I really value ur opinion

    • October 5, 2009 10:42 am

      Hey Shannon,

      I’m thrilled that you loved the piece & am grateful to have connected with you beautiful ladies too. Wow! I’m humbled that you value my opinion & can’t wait to review the book. I truly believe what you’re doing is amazing & important, especially for our young people. Keep up the lovely work! See you soon πŸ™‚

  4. October 16, 2009 7:15 pm

    It was a pleasure to see you lastnight! Sorry I had to rush our meet I just wanted to get to the book table b4 ppl started leaving w/out books in their hand (side eye).

    Thank you sooo much for coming! Do u have msn? Add me sboodram@rogers.com – I don’t have BBM :s

Trackbacks

  1. thosegirlsarewild.com » It Take a Community to Get LAID

Leave a Reply

