Skip to content

Boys & Their Toys

October 30, 2009

What is it about boys and their toys? I should have known I was in for trouble when Sean announced he was getting a Blu-ray Player. Ever since we saw The Dark Knight on Blu-ray at a friend’s house, he’s been trying to sell me on “why we need Blu-ray in our lives.” And although I could care less, as he searched Craigslist and Kijji I said what any good girlfriend would say, “Cool baby.” It wasn’t too long before he discovered that the prices for Blu-ray Players were close in price to PlayStation 3s, which for those of you who don’t know, has a Blu-ray Player built in. Without thinking I blurted out, “If they’re so close in price, why not just get the PlayStation 3.” Damn. Me and my big mouth. Well, that was all he needed to hear. By the end of the day he purchased his PlayStation 3 and set it up next to my Nintendo Wii and above his Xbox 360. Yes, you read that right, he also has an Xbox 360.

Having a PlayStation 3 and an Xbox 360 is bad enough, throw a big screen TV with surround sound into the mix and what you have is a gamer’s paradise. Ladies can you feel my pain?

I’m starting to feel like a game widow. To his credit, Sean is pretty good about knowing when to turn off his game consoles, however it got pretty bad Wednesday night when he told me that I couldn’t watch one of my favourite scary movies on our big screen. Why? Because Sean bought a fiber optic cable along with some remote. He needed to install it and try it out immediately. He kicked me out of the living room and I ended up watching my movie on our smaller TV. I couldn’t believe it. What was it about these devices that had me sequestered in my room for 50 minutes? I asked Sean to give me the scoop. Check out the video below…hilarious!

Nia's Piece - Boys & Their Toys

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

12 Comments leave one →
  1. dec22cm@gmail.com permalink
    October 30, 2009 9:54 am

    This would’ve been high-definition worthy.
    Nay: Don’t hate (horror movies look their best in BD… Even crappy ones).

  2. October 30, 2009 10:17 am

    Okay fair enough, I’ll take your word for it since you’re an expert.

    Who’s hating? I didn’t mind that he hooked it up. I mean he could’ve tested his fiber optic cable using my movie, but no, he had to test it with his PS3…right away…for 50 minutes! Lol, not cool.

  3. October 30, 2009 11:16 am

    okay …so maybe i went a little overboard with using my teeth to try and tear the plastic off the batteries. Maybe I went a little overboard smelling the inside of that BRAND NEW PACKAGING for the bluray remote……BUT THIS IS ME SONNNN!!! you gotta’ love me..or leave me alone baby! Do i say anything to you when you find that perfect lip color ‘red-357A’?? NO. Do i not understand your excitement when you find a book that you get hype to cause its only 8000 pages as opposed to 10,000? NO. Why? because i understand you, and if that is the road that thou feeleth she musteth taketh…I support you baby. Why? Cause this ain’t a me thing…..ITS A WII THANG! and an XBOX THANG, and a PS3 thang!

    I that i ask is that your respect my ‘GAME’ (snicker snicker). Some people smoke crack…some people buy snake skinned shoes…I LIKE GADGETS…and……and if you………..(sigh)….if you cant understand that (getting teary eyed)….then I guess………………then i guess we weren’t meant to be…….in the living room at the same time. I’m gonna go now. PS3 is calling…so is the wii…and XBOX.

    10 DOLLA’ HOLLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!ps3.

    • October 30, 2009 11:54 am

      LMAO!! You’re too much! I’m all about honouring your inner geek (you know I love my Marvel comics, anything 80s & sci-fi/fantasy/horror) & support you in your quest…I mean haven’t your Transformers been on display in our living room for months? Um, what support? You’ve never cared about any new lip colour I’ve found. And re: my books, you damaged 2 of my most cherished ones by using them to block out air & rain on our AC this summer & then threw them by the garbage…smh. I was just looking for a compromise. You could’ve tested your fiber optic cable using my movie but no, you HAD to test it w/your PS3…right away…for 50 minutes…not cool!

  4. October 30, 2009 11:41 am

    I feel your pain Nay. Because of that, I will wait a week before challenging Sub to all night, online Madden 10 round robin tournaments on the PS3 network.

    Who says chivalry is dead? 😉

  5. October 30, 2009 12:08 pm

    Totally freaking hilarious Nadine… love girl, it’s love that makes you put up with this ish. Keep doing what you’re going.

    PS: Y’all have a serious hazard there with all them wires, etc. I guess this is a kid-free home eh?

    • November 1, 2009 3:18 pm

      It’s gotta be love, thanks Andrea! Sean assures me that the wires are safe and no, there aren’t any little kids at home…only big ones. 🙂

  6. Kim permalink
    October 30, 2009 1:27 pm

    Ha ha ha, love it! I personally am in love with the PS3 and blue ray is AMAZING! I think you should start charging people to come watch movies at your place though, that’s technical heaven!

  7. October 30, 2009 4:46 pm

    you two are hilarious! yea love will make you put up with all of that stuff.. this was a great write up though…

    • November 1, 2009 3:20 pm

      Thanks Leeta…lol, the things we do for love Leeta *sigh*

Leave a Reply

