Skip to content

RIP Haydain Neale

November 24, 2009

Haydain Neale, lead singer of the Juno Award-winning Canadian soul band Jacksoul, died this past Sunday at Mount Sinai Hospital in Toronto after a private 7 month battle with lung cancer. He was 39 years old and is survived by his wife and daughter. In a statement released by Sony Music on behalf of the Neale family, his wife Michaela said,

“Through all these challenges, Haydain’s sense of humour and love of music were ever-present. He constantly brightened the room with his singing and his smile. His joyful presence and beautiful voice will be missed by us all.”

I am shocked and saddened by Haydain’s death. I know this is loss for the Canadian music industry, but as a fan this is a huge for loss for soul and r&b music. Period.  I’ll never forget the first time I heard “Unconditional. I loved the song and adored Haydain’s voice. It was authentic. No tricks, no frills…just soulful, smooth and soothing. And it didn’t matter if it was a hectic day or a lazy afternoon, I knew if I listened to a Jacksoul song I could kick back, relax & chill because everything was gonna be alright.

Jacksoul’s new album will be released December 1st. This is their first album since  Haydain’s 2007 scooter accident that had left him in a coma. The title of the album is “Soulmate.” I’ll be picking up my copy and you should too, especially since it’s been reported that all proceeds of “Soulmate” will go to the Haydain Neale Family Trust.

The Jacksoul website has opened an email account for fans to send their condolences or share memories: haydainnealefamily@gmail.com.

Below are a few videos of some of my favourite Jacksoul songs including their cover of the Smashing Pumpkins’ song “1979.” RIP Haydain, thanks for sharing your gifts with the world. I’ll miss your voice.

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. urdead2me permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:44 pm

    RIP – Mr. Neale:
    http://urdead2me.wordpress.com/2009/11/22/rip-haydain-neale/

  2. Nalia permalink
    November 25, 2009 10:43 am

    I, too, am very saddened by this great loss. When one thinks of Canadian music, one has to list Jacksoul as one of those great bands that has given us soulstirring, authentic music. I found myself always wondering how he was doing after his accident, and now to hear that he has passed away, is saddening indeed.
    R.I.P. Haydain Neale.

Leave a Reply

