Skip to content

Happy New Year!!!!

December 31, 2009

I just wanted to take a moment to wish everyone a very Happy New Year! We’re not only ringing in a new year but a new decade. That’s big! I’m a little blurry on exactly where the time went, but it’s all good. I’m excited and curious to see what’s in store for 2010. As we get ready to bid farewell (and for some good riddance) to 2009, “change” and “focus” are the words heard most, along with the number one question “What are your resolutions for 2010?”

The following quote formed part of my horoscope in this week’s NOW Magazine and I think answers this question best,

“We should not think of our past as definitely settled, for we are not a stone or a tree. My past changes every minute according to the meaning given it now, in this moment.” ˜Czeslaw Milosz, poet.

After a year of personal and professional highs & lows I was reminded to cherish everyday. My new year’s resolution is to continue to do so in 2010. Whatever you resolve to do, take your goal(s) one day at a time. Don’t be too hard on yourself. And remember to stay positive! Surrounding yourself with positive people who support and encourage you will definitely help keep you on track. Click here to check out an article from Psychology Today, which provides excellent tips on making and keeping new year’s resolutions.

Yesterday a very good friend of mine asked me what advice I’d give the old Nadine circa 1999. Even though I don’t believe in regrets if I had the chance I’d offer this advice:

1. God’s first…You’re next! This goes without saying. And the Gye Nyame tattoo I got back in 2006 serves as a constant reminder to put God first in everything I do. And I recall reading “God’s first…I am next” years ago in Iyanla Vanzant’s book The Value In The Valley. Learning to put myself next took  time, but I understand that if I’m not good (and loving & respecting myself) how good will I be to anyone else.

2. Trust Yourself…Always! Always trust yourself to do what you need to do for yourself no matter what the situation…ALWAYS!

On a lighter note, here are few lessons learned this holiday season:

  • Holiday Lesson#1: Stay away from Wal-Mart on Christmas Eve. Period.
  • Holiday Lesson #2: If your partner wants to pull an all-nighter playing Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 online, don’t stay up with them. Go to bed!
  • Holiday Lesson #3: Making a cheesecake at 1:00 am on Christmas day isn’t a good idea, especially if said cheesecake requires baking. You’ll be up all night. Trust. Despite our sleep deprivation, our Holiday Spice Cheesecake was a success and the perfect desert for Christmas dinner. Click here for the recipe.

I could go on. Three is enough. :-).

Seriously though, I’d like to wish you a new year filled with new hope, new joy & new beginnings! All the best to you & yours in 2010! Thanks again for all of your support and for making 2009 memorable.

So do you have any resolutions for 2010? If so, what are they? What lessons have you learned over the past year or past decade? Say your Piece & leave me a comment!

Well I gotta go. I’m off to spend a chill New Year’s Eve with family in Milton. Take care, be safe & I’ll see you in 2010.

xoxo/Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2009

NavyJade.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tru permalink
    December 31, 2009 6:48 pm

    Great blog as always Nay!
    I’m still laughing at the story you and Sean told about Holiday Lesson #3 at our party. lol
    Thanks again for all of your support and for being a good friend 🙂
    HAPPY NEW YEAR! All the best in 2010!

  2. December 31, 2009 9:13 pm

    Happy new year! Are u planning on getting any new tattoos this year?

  3. January 1, 2010 8:46 pm

    “We should not think of our past as definitely settled, for we are not a stone or a tree. My past changes every minute according to the meaning given it now, in this moment.” – what a powerful quote by Czeslaw Milosz. Thank you Nadine for bringing it to my attention. I love it.
    As for my resolution, all I know is that I’m on a personal pursuit of happiness – to everyone that means something different and requires different steps. To me, it means surrounding myself with the people I want to be like and the things I am most passionate about. I’ve never been more excited. I wish you could see my smile right now.

    😀

    P.S. Your three holidays lessons are too cute! I love how you keep it so real and personal in this spot. The intimacy is priceless. Keep up the great work and all the best for 2010.

    xo~

  4. winston mauricette permalink
    January 2, 2010 11:45 am

    Hope everything will be better for 2010 . For my resolution nothing yet everthing is good so far.
    GOD BLESS

  5. January 4, 2010 2:19 pm

    @ Tru: you’re more than welcome girl, DITTO!!

    @ Print Tattoo Designs: I’ve got 2 tattoos & don’t plan on getting anymore but if anything changes I’ll let you know.

    @ AdGirl: Thanks Lava! Lol, I wish I could see it! I’m SO excited for you & for AdGirl TV!!

    @ Winston: Happy to hear that everything’s good so far. Sounds like 2010 is off to a great start. 🙂

    Love the comments guys, thanks./N

Leave a Reply

