Skip to content

Help Haiti

January 13, 2010

As you know, yesterday Haiti was hit by its strongest earthquake in more than 200 years. Haitian President René Préval says the 7.0 earthquake has killed hundreds of thousands of people and left Port-au-Prince, the capital city, in ruins. The damage is catastrophic. Reports continue to come in describing the devastation, with calls for help from the international community. I’m happy to say that Canada has stepped up to plate and is working to send aid and assistance.

Although Haiti may be one of the poorest countries in the western hemisphere, Raymond Joseph, Haiti’s US Ambassador reminds us, “The only thing I can say is that the Haitian people are a really courageous people, and in the past, when we’ve been hit hard, we come back fighting…” Very true, just check out their history.

My heart broke last night while watching the news. I can’t imagine what the people of Haiti or those who have loved ones there must be going through. Of course my prayers are with Haiti, but in a situation like this, prayers aren’t enough. We need to help Haiti now!

I’m asking all of you to please find out how you can help and donate whatever you can to the relief effort. The list of charities below is a great place to start. I’ve linked them for your convenience. Also below are links to CBC News’ and CNN’s coverage.

P.S. If you know of another way to help (e.g. fundraising event or charity) leave a comment or send me an email at words@navyjade.com. You can also find me on Facebook at NavyJade-Nia’s Piece Blog or Twitter.com/NavyJade. I’ll spread the word & include your info in an updated post. Remember, every little bit helps. Marian Wright Edelman says, “Service is the rent we pay for living.” Consider this your call to action!

A injured child receives medical treatment after an earthquake in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Jan. 13, 2009. Photo by Eduardo Munoz/REUTERS

How To Help:

Contact Info For Canadians With Family In Haiti:

  • Canadians with family in Haiti can call the Foreign Affairs Emergency Operations Centre in Ottawa at 800-387-3124, 613-943-1055, or email sosinternational@gc.ca. Canadians in Haiti can get in touch with Canadian Embassy officials in Port-au-Prince by calling 613-996-8885.

News Links:

Love,

Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2010

NavyJade.com

Marian Wright Edelman
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Maya permalink
    January 13, 2010 6:39 pm

    Hey Nay,

    Thanks so much for this. As I first heard of this disaster I sat at home feeling helpless. I want to help so much. I have heard a lot about Wyclef’s foundation and charity and it’s at the top of my list as well. Canada is doing their part to help and for that I’m proud but more importantly the people of Haiti are getting the help the need.

    See you soon!

    Maya

  2. Ginny permalink
    January 13, 2010 9:48 pm

    My condolences go out to all those who have lost a loved one in Haiti.

  3. Shellee permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:01 am

    I see their faces and feel their pain. My heart breaks. They desperately need our help. I concur, Wycleffs Jean’s Foundation is a wonderful place to start, when you don’t know how/where to begin.

    My prayers are with them.

    Shellee

  4. January 18, 2010 4:21 pm

    Thanks for your comments ladies. I just got some blog love ThoseGirlsAreWild. Shannon’s post “Hi Haiti” was so great, I had to say my Piece. Here’s the link to her post: http://thosegirlsarewild.com/2010/01/hi-haiti-think-about-it-mondays/

    Here was my comment to Shannon’s post: “Words can’t express how my heart breaks for Haiti. To answer your question about corruption: Unfortunately corruption doesn’t require walls & I have a feeling that it may continue.

    I love the role that social media is having in keeping the lines of communication open, the info flowing & raising the bar on accountability.

    Let me share with you what’s bugging me the right now: #1why hasn’t President René Préval made an address to his people? If he’s done it, then I stand corrected, but I don’t think he has. It’s been almost a week! This is totally unacceptable!

    #2 I’m angry that for years geologists warned of what an earthquake could do to Haiti & little if anything was done about it. Once again, we’re seeing what happens when a natural disaster & terrible man-made conditions collide.

    #3 I’m frustrated by and pity ignorant people who would try to hinder the relief effort by making ridiculous & hurtful comments or people who can’t leave their egos at the door & forget what giving to others is truly about. (e.g. Rush Limbaugh & Pat Robinson). I agree that it shouldn’t matter where you choose to give. It should only matter that you do something…anything.

    I believe in having a positive outlook & although Haiti is in a state of emergency, the love from the global community has me hopeful that they will overcome this tragedy. Perhaps the nations of the world can agree to relieve Haiti of some, if not all, of its debt.

    Haitians must demand more from their government. And the Haitian government must step up & remember who they serve. The world is watching. /Nadine”

Trackbacks

  1. Help Haiti – Events Update! « Nia's Piece
  2. Help Haiti Update – Fundraising Events! « Nia's Piece
  3. thosegirlsarewild.com » Hi Haiti – Think About it Mondays
  4. The four types of photography | jessicasbhs10's Blog

Leave a Reply

