Skip to content

RIP Teddy Pedergrass

January 14, 2010

Listening to his music was easy because my mom had all of his albums. She prided herself on her record collection, which included some of the best R&B artists of the 70s & 80s. Names like Kool & The Gang, Ohio Players, Chaka Khan, The O’Jays, Minnie Riperton & Rick James all stood out, but Teddy Pedergrass was her man. She loved him. And unlike many of today’s R&B artists, she could play Teddy’s songs and not have to worry about me hearing anything explicit. As for me, well, I admired his style. Back then, I was too young to appreciate his sex appeal. That wouldn’t come until years later. 😉 Teddy was the epitome of smooth, with a powerful voice which evoked raw emotion. Guaranteed.

I was deeply saddened to hear of Teddy’s passing. He died yesterday after a battle with colon cancer. He was 59. Diagnosed with cancer last year, Teddy had a difficult time recovering from surgery; he died at Bryn Mawr Hospital outside of his native Philadelphia. Check out Rolling Stone’s story here.

Easily recognized for his baby making slow jams, some people forget that Teddy could really bring the funk. My fondest Teddy memory has to be dancing to “Get Up, Get Down, Get Funky, Get Loose” with my dad at my uncle’s wedding a few years ago. Scroll down to have a listen & be sure to check out his live performance of “Close The Door.” Wow! See what I mean? And for all you die-hard fans, I’ve added 2 more videos of Teddy live and in concert. Enjoy!

Want more? Check out his website, TeddyPedergrass.com. R.I.P. Teddy Pedergrass…we’ll miss you.

Love,

Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2010

NavyJade.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 4:15 pm

    Your blog is so informative … ..I just bookmarked you….keep up the good work!!!!

    Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂
    surface encounters macomb

Leave a Reply

