Skip to content

Poetic Art Studio

February 5, 2010

Words and art. I love both wildly. Both speak to me. Both move my soul, painting pictures on the canvas of my mind. Imagine my excitement when I found out there was an artist in Toronto creating beautiful artwork using words and images. My heart skipped a beat and I wondered if it was too good to be true. Oh, it was definitely true. And it was about get a whole lot better! According to the press release sent to me by my friend Gabrielle Lasporte, this artist was opening her very own studio in the city! How could I not love this? Visual artist and poet Roxane Tracey will kick off Black History Month by opening Poetic Art Studio February 6th & 7th!

“…this work has something to say…it speaks to you in images…it speaks to you in words…it speaks to you as poetic art.”~Roxane Tracey

Incredible! Here’s an excerpt from her press release:

“Roxane Tracey is one of the few Toronto-based young African-Canadian female artists to run her own studio and artistic workshop space. Her work includes a line of inspirational greeting cards, prints and originals, books and clothing.

Although Roxane’s cards and prints are featured in various stores throughout Canada and the US, her diverse product range is only available at Poetic Art Studio. Roxane has personally taught many youth and adult Poetic Art (poetry and art) workshops in locally and internationally. While in Northern Uganda, she facilitated poetry and art workshops for war-affected youth and focused on using poetry and art as a cathartic form of self-expression. And in Malawi, she worked with HIV & AIDS affected youth and focused on having them use poetry and art to talk about how the disease  has impacted their lives and their communities.

‘Art, poetry and craft workshops offer a way to develop personal creative expression. Whether it is a crafting workshop, one focused on artistic and or poetic development – a person can be left with such a feeling of accomplishment in having tapped into their artistic space of self-expression. They can be carried away by their creativity for a few hours and forget the stresses of the world around them.’ says Roxane.”

"Soul Flower" Poetic Art by Roxane Tracey; Poetic Verse: "She blooms in the fresh heat of spring awakening the rhythm of her heart."

"Telling" Poetic Art by Roxane Tracey; Poetic Verse: "Telling you my heart without words."

A truly talented and accomplished artist, I knew I needed to meet with Roxane and share her story with you. I sat down with her last week and with warm apple cider and iced green tea in hand, Roxane filled me in on her inspirations and aspirations and why we could all use some “Poetic Art” in our lives.

How did you get your start?

Roxane: I started as a writer and had drawn since I was a child. In 1996 I realized my poetry needed an image to go along with it so I joined the two in my first piece, “Boy Meets Girl.” It was a love story with a poem. This was the birth of Poetic Art. I really got serious in 2000 and began to treat it as more of a business.

Going from creating my pieces to selling them as a business was a progression. I contacted other artists and asked for their advice. I showed my work and got feedback. I also marketed myself by selling and distributing my art in different forms such as greeting cards, prints and originals and by also showcasing my work at exhibits, art shows and festivals in New York City, Toronto.

What comes first, your poetry or your artwork?

Roxane: It depends on the piece and what I’m feeling. It could start with notes or an image…I let it develop naturally.

Who or what inspires you?

Roxane: Travelling to different places around the world inspires me. I spent 6 months in Ghana and 2 months in West Africa by myself surrounded by people who took care of me and I felt a real sense of community. Also, other artists inspire me: Maya Angelou, Toni Morrison, visual artists like Cynthia St. James. They all use colour and imagery in their writing.

What was the inspiration behind Poetic Art Studio?

Roxane: I experienced more success outside of Toronto and struggled with the viability of having a studio in Toronto. I didn’t know if it was worth trying. But, Toronto is where I live and it made sense to have a studio to allow people to access and interact with my work.  I needed to give people a space to explore their creativity through my Poetic Art workshops, which will be conducted by myself and other local artists.

What advice would you give women starting their own business?

Roxane: Be true to yourself as an artist. Sometimes we get caught up in the in the mainstream, we think it equals success. Being an artist with your own business can be difficult as we don’t stress that as a society that you can be successful as an artist and profitable in business. It’s easy to start but it’s hard to persevere. Believe in what you’re doing. Pursuing your passion can be a struggle so it’s important to understand the business aspect and surround yourself with positive people who can push you upwards.

And finally, how can people get in touch with you?

Roxane: They can visit Poetic Art Studio & come to our grand opening this weekend! People can also get in touch with me in the following ways:

Email: info@poeticart.ca

Telephone: (647) 340-7411

Mail:
Poetic Art Studio
511 Mount Pleasant Rd., 2nd Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4S 2M4

Website: www.poeticart.ca

Congratulations Roxane on the grand opening of Poetic Art Studio! Be sure to visit Poetic Art Studio this weekend & support Toronto talent! Check out the event details below:

  • POETIC ART STUDIO – GRAND OPENING

Featuring creative artwork by Roxane Tracey: Unique Cards, Prints, Originals Clothing & More!

When: Saturday, February 6th, 2009 & Sunday, February 7th, 2009

Time: 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.

Place: Poetic Art Studio

Address: 511 Mount Pleasant Rd., on the 2nd Floor (2.5 blocks east of Davisville subway above the Costumes store), click here for the map.

Cost: FREE!!!!

*Refreshments & Door Prizes*

Experience Special Grand Opening Activity: Just in time for Valentine’s Day, create your Valentine’s Day card!

If you’re on Facebook, click here for the event link.

p.s. Scheduled workshops in March will include: Poetic Art for youth & adults, cartooning, eco art & batik art. For more information visit www.poeticart.ca

Love,

Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2010
NavyJade.com
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kimberly permalink
    February 5, 2010 11:03 am

    This looks amazing, I think I’ll definitely have to check it out, how lucky that I live practically in the backyard of this too! Thanks Nadine 🙂

  2. February 5, 2010 11:52 am

    I am so glad you decided to talk about this Nadine! I think that Roxane’s concept is great! Its about time we as artists start making things happen for ourselves instead of relying on galleries to tell us what is supposed to be “in”
    I will be teaching the Modern Batik Workshop at Poetic Art Studio – and hope to see people come out and support at the opening this weekend!

  3. February 8, 2010 8:22 pm

    @ Kimberly: Thanks Kim, Poetic Art Studio is close to where I live too…I didn’t know we were neighbours. I was there Sunday and had a great time…you’re going to absolutely love it!

    @ Gabrielle: Well said Gabrielle, I couldn’t agree more! Please let me know when you’ll be teaching your workshops so I can let my readers know. Thanks!

    /Nay

Leave a Reply

