Skip to content

Bits & Pieces

April 13, 2010

If it feels like it’s been a while since you last read a post, you’re right. These past few weeks have been incredibly amazing and incredibly hectic. I took some time off to settle into my new job. I’m actually heading off to New York City for a few days and although I should probably be packing, I’ve been working on this Piece. You won’t find a specific subject covered in this, or future “Bits & Pieces” posts, simply a few mini-pieces giving you a quick rundown on whatever I’ve got on my mind. So let’s go!

Sock Wars

I love wearing my boyfriend’s socks. Are they too big for me? Oh yeah, he’s a size 13! But they’re comfortable and warm my feet like nobody’s business. He doesn’t know it, but sometimes when he isn’t around I go into his drawer, pick out a pair and wear them around the house. Recently I got caught after Sean couldn’t help but notice the heel of his socks way up my leg. He was not happy and decided to voice his frustrations on Facebook. Battle lines were drawn online and offline. It was all in good fun, until one day it got ugly. Really ugly.

While getting ready for work, I realized I couldn’t find my deodorant. I looked everywhere and no time to waste I made a decision to use Sean’s deodorant rather than go a whole day smelling funky. Ladies, being forced to smell like Arctic Breeze all day isn’t cool! I was pretty sure Sean hid my deodorant somewhere in the house and was furious. I guess you could blame it on my Jamaican/Nova Scotian temper, but in the end victory was mine: I waited until Sean was out of town and not only did I wear his socks, I put my feet all over his studio equipment. All over it! My girl took some photos (have a look at 2 of them below) and after about a week, he got the surprise of his life when I posted them on Facebook. The women cheered, but the men did not. For all you men who say I crossed the line, I say, “You’ll have to speak up. It’s hard to hear you over the thunderous cheers of all the ladies out there who feel exactly where I’m coming from.  😉

When The Dude Is Away...

The Lady Will Play!

The Impossible Kid

I love kung fu movies. A few months ago discovered that Channel 11 – available for those of you residing in the Greater Toronto Area – plays old school kung fu movies from the 70s & 80s Thursdays to Saturdays from about midnight to 4am. One of the movies that I absolutely adore is 1984 movie from the Philippines called The Impossible Kid, starring Ernesto de la Cruz a.k.a. Weng Weng as the secret agent 000.  If you don’t know about Weng Weng, click here to learn more.

The Impossible Kid was the sequel to For Your Height Only (1982). I’ve never seen For Your Height Only, although I heard it was quite popular when it debuted at the 1981 Manila International Film Festival. This festival was designed by First Lady Imelda Marcos as an elaborate showcase of Filipino culture. Out of all of the movies shown, the movie sold to the world was this mockery of Western pop iconography.

I’m searching for these movies on DVD so if you know where I can find them, please send me an email at feedback@niaspiece.com. Until then, I’m at the mercy of the Channel 11’s Programming Director and thankful to a few YouTube users for their uploads. Check out the trailers below. How could one not love all the crazy, campy fun?

Crackle-Berry Pop!

Reds and I have been together since December and are still going strong. Reds is my Blackberry Curve and what we have is special. Thanks to his alarm clock, he’s the first thing I reach for when I wake up. And I always keep him within reach, checking in with him throughout the day. And who else but Reds could have me hiding under the covers at 2:30am Googling the end of a certain 1991 movie starring Bruce Willis and Demi Moore? As you can imagine, Sean was not amused. I reminded him of his obsession with his iPhone. He used to show off his Apps and try to silence me by sliding his finger across my forehead. Pretty soon, I had to eat my words when I found it hard to turn off my phone during a romantic dinner. “Can I at least leave it on vibrate?” I got a look of shock, quickly followed by, “No, Nay we can’t.” Even though I understood why, I ached for Reds just a little…sorry baby.

Just A Pinch

A year ago I made myself a promise to pursue whatever moved my soul, at my own pace and more importantly, on my own terms. One by one I’ve been checking off my goals and dreams, some of which include: the launch of Nia’s Piece Blog & my copywriting business NavyJade, Writing & Editing Services, going back to school to receive my Certificate in Publicity & Public Relations from the University of Toronto & going after the job I want. We all know that with hard work and positive thinking anything is possible, but when you achieve your goals or have your dreams come true it’s okay to pinch yourself…you earned it!

Love,

Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2010
NavyJade.com
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Miranda* permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:09 am

    Nay,
    Your achievement of your goals is an inspiration to me. No need to pinch yourself girl. It’s all real, and all you! xoxox

  2. SEAN THE MAN SEAN permalink
    April 13, 2010 4:44 pm

    Nay,
    Your achievement of your goals is an inspiration to me. No need to pinch yourself girl. It’s all real, and all you! xoxox..and stay out of my sock drawer son!

  3. Jill Yantzi permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:12 pm

    So proud of you girl. More importantly than positive thinking is KNOWING that you are brilliant, capable and worthy of the life of your dreams!
    xooxoxoxo

  4. Melissa permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:36 pm

    OMG! Sock Wars and Crackle-berry Pop had me laughing in my cubicle!! Love how much silly fun you and Sean have together! It’s good stuff. :o) I will say iPhone all the way! But I’m a mac girl fo life!

    Enjoy NYC…you deserve it!

    mel

  5. Shellee permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:50 am

    Well all I can say is its about time. I was beginning to think Nia was gone for good. Welcome back girlfriend.

    As always, you amaze and inspire me. Forward thinking, that’s what I get from you. I’m reading a new book “Excuses Begone”. Nothing is impossible, just go for it, as proven time and again by you.

    Enjoy the Big Apple. Can’t wait to read your blog on that experience.

    Shellee

  6. April 16, 2010 8:42 pm

    Thanks guys for your comments!

    @Miranda: Thanks girl, very sweet of you!

    @Jill: LOVE IT! Words of wisdom from one of the most positive & inspiring women I know.

    @Melissa: Glad we made you smile. I’ll be getting a Macbook very soon & am sure I’ll fall in love with it. Sean just got a iMac so I’m already “Mac’d” out…oh yeah girl, his obsession is pretty serious. 😉

    @Shellee: Thanks Shell! “Excuses Begone” sounds amazing! I’ll have to look out for it.

    Sadly, my visit to NYC was all work, no play. But I’ll be heading back there this summer to give it the love it deserves. 😉

  7. Tru permalink
    April 28, 2010 10:01 pm

    Welcome back Nay!

    lol at Artic Breeze!!

    I’ve had some successes over the past week that I’m truly excited about!
    I too have pinched myself a few times just to make sure it’s real!
    Thanks for reminding me that I’VE EARNED IT!!

  8. May 29, 2012 10:57 pm

    Replica Chanel Bags On SameChanel.Com For Sale, 4-7 Days Free Shipping Worldwide And Provides Chanel purses Replica With The Best Quality And Cheap Price.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Bits & Pieces « Nia's Piece -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

