Skip to content

The Tipping Point: Part 1

May 25, 2010

When I first heard Jedi Master Yoda tell Luke Skywalker, “Do or do not. There is no try,” I was too young to understand just how powerful these words were. The older I get, the more I realize that there is a big difference between knowing what you have to do and actually doing it. Now, I’m not talking about the usual day-to-day tasks. No, I’m talking about heavy stuff involving love, relationships, career, family etc. As I approach my 34th birthday this Saturday, I can honestly say that if I didn’t get it before, I definitely get it now.

Try to avoid what you know you have to do. I dare you. I bet your heart will ask you, “You know what you have to do? What are you waiting for?” Your answer will probably go something like this: “I know. I’m not sure, but I can’t do it now because of _________. ” So you put in on the back burner. How long you keep it there depends on you. Sooner or later though, you’ll be unable to avoid it. You will reach your tipping point and have no choice but to face the situation. Guaranteed. Not sure what a tipping point is? That’s okay, keep reading.

Experts describe a tipping point as the moment at which something becomes irreversible and unstoppable. Tipping points occur because momentum builds up, often slowly and quietly, until a point when it is impossible to go back to a previous state.

I had my tipping point about a week ago. Even though the results have been positive it was tough. Aside from being emotionally drained, I’m happy and relieved that I worked through it. Please forgive the lack of details. I just really needed to get this off my chest. I promise to fill you in on my next post, The Tipping Point: Part 2. For now, I’m off to Cuba for some much-needed rest and relaxation. Toasting my birthday in paradise…can’t wait!

Have a beautiful week!

p.s. Given the title of the post, you know I had to include some music from The Roots so enjoy one of my favourites, Star.


Love,

Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE & never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2010

NavyJade.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andre Hill permalink
    May 25, 2010 8:11 am

    Excellent Topic !!! I really loved it. It put alot on my mind. Enjoy your trip and be safe. Tell King Sean I said ” Hello”.

  2. June 17, 2010 11:52 pm

    Thanks Andre, I will!

Trackbacks

  1. The Tipping Point: Part 2…Cloud Milli « Nia's Piece

Leave a Reply

