Skip to content

The Tipping Point: Part 2…Cloud Milli!

June 17, 2010

Excuse me while I kiss the sky…

Sure, being on cloud 9 is cool, but since I got back from Cuba it feels like I’m sitting on a million… Cloud Milli. If you read my last post, you know I spent my birthday in Cuba after working through my own tipping point. This trip was exactly what the doctor ordered. Click here to get caught up. People who don’t know me are probably wondering the reason for my euphoria. While it’s true being surrounded by the beauty and warmth of Santa Lucia is enough to put anyone in a tropical daze, my reason is much sweeter. As the sun set on my birthday I was asked the most important question of my life. And what can I say, yes is always a good answer…I’m engaged!!!

Look out for a future post on my Cuba trip. In the meantime, a promise is a promise so without further delay here’s the skinny on how I reached my tipping point.

Fate loves the fearless…

Remember, the job of my corporate dreams I started back in January? Well, it didn’t work out. The conditions there proved to be unbearable. I guess I could blame it partly on my strong work ethic for trying to tough it out. Maybe if I were fresh out of college or close to retiring, I would have hung in. I knew I had to move on but it hurt like hell to admit it because a part of me felt as though I had somehow failed.

So on a Friday afternoon, days shy of hitting my 3-month mark, I reached my tipping point. The following Monday I resigned. It was the first time I did so without having another job waiting in the wings. But I didn’t care. I just needed to bounce. My spirit immediately felt 10 pounds lighter.

Over the next two weeks I calling my contacts and lined up bevy of interviews and meetings. Between that and a few freelance writing jobs, I was BUSY! By the way, if you or someone you know is looking for a skilled wordsmith, don’t hesitate to reach out to me at words@navyjade.com. Click here to find out how I can help you with your next writing and/or editing project. And to see a few of my recent pieces click here or check out any of my Nia’s Piece blog posts.

One my interviews went so well that they made an offer on the spot. They even tracked me down in Cuba to negotiate the terms of their Offer Letter to my satisfaction…pretty damn cool. Days after it was finalized, my fiancé popped the question.

After almost two weeks into my position, I can already see and feel the difference. Whether things work out is irrelevant. Either way I know I’ll be good and that much closer to where I need to be. As Plato said, “Courage is knowing what not to fear.” I take comfort in knowing that I listened to my instincts, stood my ground and got exactly what I wanted…my way.

Enjoy your weekend!

Love,

Nay

If you’re loving these vivid, feel good, thought-provoking words, SUBSCRIBE& never miss a Piece!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

NIA LOGO

© Nia’s Piece, 2010

NavyJade.com

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 4:06 pm

    You did the right thing! Sorry to hear that things did not work out at the “dream job”.

    Things might be awkward for a little while but you are a smart cookie and you will be better off in the long run trust me. Sounds like you were in a pretty toxic place! Stress in life is so not worth it.

    And… Congrats on the engagement!

  2. Winston Mauricette permalink
    June 19, 2010 9:09 am

    Hi Nadine
    Brenda and myself are very happy fo you.As they say when one door closes another one opens and we are happy you like that job.
    Love Biing & Brenda

  3. June 19, 2010 12:21 pm

    You took the leap… You followed your heart. And what presented was better than imagined! SO proud of you and happy for you sista!
    LOVE YOU!
    xoxoxo
    Jill

  4. June 22, 2010 9:08 pm

    Thanks to everyone for the lovely comments! I truly appreciate your support. xoxo/N

  5. Melissa permalink
    June 23, 2010 8:34 am

    Had no idea! Good for you – for going with your gut – a job should not be a toxic environment and detract from your well being! It was obviously not your dream job!

    Congrats again on the engagement! You two are awesome! ;o)

    • June 29, 2010 11:44 pm

      Well said Melissa! This is an incredibly exciting time for me…for us. Thanks so much for the well wishes! /Nay

Trackbacks

  1. La Isla Bonita « Nia's Piece

Leave a Reply

