Skip to content

The Blossom of Parting

February 24, 2011

You know what I love most about weekends?  Sleeping in.  I’m not a morning person so if I have to get up early, it had better be for a good reason.  There are only a few people who can drag me out of bed before 9am and I’d like to give 2 of them a quick shout out. 

I realize this may be an unconventional way to start my first blog post of 2011, but it’s a new year and a new decade, why not shake things up.

The first one is to my best friend.  Hey BF!  Only you could have me stand in the cold for 5 hours straight, no questions asked.  Why are you so surprised I didn’t complain? I thought I told you whenever & whatever.  After all, a deal is a deal. 😉 

The second is to my Saturday morning gal pal.  My dear, I really do cherish our Saturday breakfasts!  Your positivity perks me up more than any cup of java!  She and I recently got together for our first breakfast of 2011.  Not exactly sure why I suggested we kick things off with an hour-long walk in the middle of winter, 20 degrees below zero.  True to form, she was up for the challenge and I learned that a frigid early morning walk is a great way to: a) wake the hell up, b) get in some cardio and c) work up a serious appetite.

As we devoured our delicious spinach feta omelets, we agreed that 2010 was THE year of major changes.  Even though we’re only 2 months in, it’s looking like the same can be said for 2011.  Globally, the wave of social reform sweeping northern Africa and the Middle East has those countries breaking free of long standing governments and regimes; first in Tunisia, then Egypt and now Libya.  Amazing and inspiring! I hope the sacrifices made won’t be in vain and that the people will truly have a say in how their countries moves forward.  Nas was right, all you need is One Mic to spread your voice to the whole world.  We hear you.  Loud and clear.

Bringing things back to home, has anyone noticed the number of relationships either ending or drifting apart?  I have.  It’s something that I’ve discussed a lot with my friends and it seems to be a common occurance for those of us in our late 20s & early to mid 30s.  Here’s the thing: outgrowing relationships may be hard to accept but it isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  Experts say that if you and your friend/lover are moving in vastly different directions, the bonds that brought you together may not be enough to sustain the relationship.  Try not to feel too bad about it.  Moving on doesn’t mean that your past shared experiences weren’t meaningful or important to you both, but it acknowledges your needs in the present.   Remember, this is a natural part of your personal growth.

Speaking of change and growth, I thought I’d fill you in on what’s been going on with me and give a little link love. Call it a catch-up/mash-up.  Enjoy!

Nay Redux: This year marks the 2nd anniversary of Nia’s Piece.  What began as a way for me to overcome my shyness and share my work has exceeded my expectations!  That said, I’m ready to take the next step in my writing journey.  Part of this will involve a refresh of Nia’s Piece. You can still expect the same feel good thought-provoking words along with a few other features I can’t wait to share.  I’ll be sure to keep you posted on these changes as they happen so stay tuned!

My Column on BlackBridalBliss.com: Remember my piece, The Bridal Path? Well after it was featured on BlackBridalBliss.com I was asked by BBB creator Bridgette Bartlett, writer and former editor of Essence Magazine, to be a contributor.  The “Road To Mrs.” column, chronicles my road to the altar.  If you missed a post, you can get caught up here.  Thanks to everyone for your feedback!  And for those of you who’ve been asking to see the hilarious video, “Spoken Like A True Sean-In-Law”, you can view it at the end of this post.

All Apple’d Out: Just call us one big Apple family.  Earlier this month I picked up a lovely iPhone 4.  Although I loved my BlackBerry, I grew tired of its lack of apps and functionality. The only downside is that I’ve been getting flack from my BBM friends for going to the “other side.” Sorry guys, I didn’t mean to abandon you.  I guess we’ll just have to text, lol.  My iPhone 4 is so sleek and easy to use, how could I resist?  I’ve even mastered the touch screen typing.  But what’s impressed me the most are the number of free apps.  My top right now are: “Nike Training” and the “Unblock Me” puzzle game.  I know that someone whose name rhymes with Jean is more than a little jealous.  According to him, I haven’t “earned” an iPhone 4.  Whatever the hell that means.  Who cares if I confused the retina display with a retinal scan, fall back homie…this is my phone!

LINK LOVE

I Marcus Garvey: It sounds good. I hope it’s good.  I’ll know for sure when I check it out.  This epic drama tells the story of Jamaica’s national hero, Marcus Mosiah Garvey, the founder of the United Negro Improvement Association and a leading advocate for the advancement of Africans at home and abroad.  It’s playing at the Papermill Theatre, 67 Pottery Rd., in Toronto, March 11th-27th. Click here for more info.

ThisIsYourConscience.com: I came across this blog while perusing the Internet and just had to share. Described as a site “honouring those who display sense and criticizing those who have none at all”, creator Lincoln Anthony Blades doesn’t hesitate to say what’s on his mind.  Hands down ThisIsYourConscience.com is one of the most real and honest blogs I’ve read in a while.  Don’t believe me?  Just check out his take on:

Marriage

Haters

Wannabe T.O. “Celebrities”

Brutally honest, funny, real and Canadian.  I LOVE IT!

Well, that’s it for now.  I hadn’t really thought about how I’d end this catch-up/mash up post. Enjoy the links and have a look at the videos below.  I’d love to hear your feedback so feel free to hit me up by either leaving me comment, email: words@navyjade.com, Facebook or Twitter.  Until next time…


Love,
Nay

© Nia’s Piece, 2011

NavyJade.com

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. andrea henry permalink
    February 25, 2011 3:43 pm

    Wow! I was waiting to some fabulousness in writing from my Girl.
    Cool, man, madd cool. Totally on point with the Relationship things…as the relationship grows and changes so do you…hopefully both seasons are changing in the same direction….if not
    it is OK. That is the amazing thing about life. You live, grow and move on…

    peace andrea

  2. February 26, 2011 1:26 pm

    this was the most hilarious and insightful commentary on the intricate relationships between in-laws that i’ve ever seen. you guys should have your own talk show or something because the chemistry is undeniable. sean — don’t you have your own mother? and how would you feel if nay decided to get this close to your dad?

    yeah, that’s what i thought 🙂

    love you guys! xoxo

  3. March 3, 2011 7:24 pm

    That video was pure jokes!

  4. March 7, 2011 10:50 pm

    Thanks for the comments ladies! @Andrea: Well said! One of my favourite quotes, “Life is change. Growth is optional. Choose wisely.” 😉 @True: LOL, thanks! You’re so right. I think he’d be scratching his head real hard if that happened, lol. You know what’s funny? I’m spending some alone time with his family this weekend so we can try to test your theory. Big hugs! 🙂 @Roxane: Thanks girl. You should’ve seen the first take. 😉

Leave a Reply

