Skip to content

Certified Mrs. for the Holidays

December 23, 2011

I think I stumped my husband when I asked him for three words to sum up our first three months of marriage. He started to ramble on about feelings and rainbows.  Ten exhausting minutes later, he was only able to give me “awesome” and “renewed.” When I asked him to elaborate, in typical male fashion he quietly did the “one thing” to make me chase him out of the room. This, ladies and gentlemen, is just a taste of our beautiful & comical married life…three months and counting!

I can’t tell you how good it feels to be writing in my own space again. Deciding to lay low to enjoy my first few months as a newlywed was one of the best decisions I ever made. I knew planning my wedding was going to crazy; however never in my wildest dreams did I envision it becoming an all-consuming ball of stress. The closer I got to my wedding day, the more I realized that in order to stay sane I needed to reprioritize everything. Additionally, my Road to Mrs. column on Black Bridal Bliss kept me very busy – not that I’m complaining. I believe I produced some of my best work at BBB and thank Editor Bridgette Bartlett and her readers for making me feel so at home.

Things are finally back to normal. The thank you cards have been mailed, the marriage certificate received and I’m adjusting quite nicely to my new title and role as a “Mrs.” Aside from Sean and me feeling a deeper spiritual connection, not much else has changed. We still joke and “pop off” about the silliest things. I guess that’s what happens when you marry your best friend. Okay, let me stop. I don’t want to get too sentimental on what an incredible year it’s been. Instead, I’ll keep it light and look back at some of my memorable moments of 2011. Scroll down to check them out.

And before I go, I want to wish you & yours all the best for the season & a very happy new year! While it’s true that this is a special time for family and friends, this year my holiday desires are slightly self-indulgent.  I’m dreaming of being curled up on my couch in my Forever Lazy, hot chocolate in hand, catching up on some good TV.  Frosty the Snowman and the old Rankin-Bass classics like Santa Claus Is Comin’ to Town immediately come to mind.  And I can’t forget American Horror Story, Once Upon A Time and my current guilty pleasure Revenge.  Now that’s a Festivus dream come true!

Call of Duty Scrape If you play Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3, claim to “fight for my freedom” and scrape your knee, rubbing alcohol shouldn’t scare you.  🙂

Scrooged At Galleria Mall If you’ve ever been to Galleria Mall in Toronto – think the old school malls with brown tiles and orange seats – you may appreciate why I was less than thrilled when Sean called me to tell me he was there to pick up my gift.  Seriously? I pray he’s joking.  I know my initial reaction completely goes against the spirit of Christmas, but visit the mall before you judge me.

Forever Lazy Lady I laughed at these commercials at first.  An adult onesie?  Really?  However, I recently reconsidered.  I get that it’s not the sexiest thing for a woman to wear, but it’s comfortable and soft.  Sean tried his best to “forbid” it, and even took his grievances to Facebook.  In the end, none of it mattered to me.  I was so eager to get one before Christmas that I called the Showcase store at Dufferin Mall had them place the last XS on hold for me.  I picked it up this week, with Sean in tow. See, he’s beginning to see things my way already, lol.

NYC

Backstage at The Apollo Theater

The Hip Hop Culture Center Harlem

Philly

At Bridal Shower w/My Beautiful Bridesmaids

Just Married!

Old Havana

New Havana

Love,

Nay

© Nia’s Piece, 2011

NavyJade.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

